top of page
Image by Nick Sarro

Ruth Moore Collection | Fiction

Last year Islandport Press acquired the rights to the Ruth Moore catalog—which includes 14 novels—and has been redesigning and reissuing many of those books, including The Weir, Spoonhandle, Candlemas Bay, Second Growth, and Speak to the Winds, as well as several collections of her shorter work.

Who was Ruth Moore?

Born and raised in the Maine fishing village of Gotts Island, Ruth Moore (1903–1989) emerged as one of the most important Maine authors of the twentieth century, best known for her authentic portrayals of Maine people and her evocative descriptions of the state. In her time, she was favorably compared to Faulkner, Steinbeck, Caldwell, and O’Connor. The Weir, her debut novel in 1943, was hailed by critics and established Moore as an important and popular novelist, but her second novel, Spoonhandle soared to great success, spending fourteen weeks on The New York Times bestseller list. The novel was also made into the movie, Deep Waters. The success of Spoonhandle gave her the financial security to build a house in Bass Harbor and spend the rest of her life writing novels in her home state. Ultimately, she wrote fourteen novels. Moore and her partner, Eleanor Mayo, travelled extensively, but never again lived outside of Maine. Moore died in Bar Harbor in 1989, leaving a nearly unmatched literary legacy in Maine.

RuthMoore copy.jpg
bottom of page